Senate appoints new Deputy Leader, Deputy Chief Whip

The Senate on Wednesday announced the appointment of Senator Oyelola Yisa Ashiru of the All Progressives Congress (APC), representing Kwara South, as its new Deputy Leader. The Senate also appointed Senator Nwebonyi Peter Onyeka of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), representing Ebonyi North, as its new Deputy Chief Whip.

The Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, announced the appointment of two new principal officers of the Senate on Wednesday, October 18, 2023. He said the appointments were made in accordance with the Senate Standing Rules and the principle of federal character.

The new Deputy Leader of the Senate is Senator Ashiru, who was formerly the Deputy Chief Whip. He has a PhD in law and was awarded the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) in October 2023. He took over from Senator Dave Umahi, who was appointed Minister of Works by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

The new Deputy Chief Whip of the Senate is Senator Onyeka, who was previously a member of the House of Representatives. He is a lawyer with over 30 years of experience and has held various positions in the public service.

The Senate President congratulated the new appointees and urged them to perform their duties diligently and faithfully. He also appreciated the outgoing Deputy Leader, Senator Umahi, for his service and contributions to the Senate and wished him success in his new role.

The new Deputy Leader and Deputy Chief Whip thanked the Senate President and their colleagues for the trust placed in them. They promised to work harmoniously with other principal officers and members of the Senate to advance the legislative agenda of the 9th Assembly.

Share this news

Subscribe to the Advocate News letter and receive news updates daily in your inbox.

Check Also

Imiruaye Okpo family warns against Illegal sale of Ometan Ugolo land

By Odeya Ogbetuo, A community leader in Ugolo District in Okpe Local Government Area of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *