Flood Alert: NEMA Warns Nine States as Cameroon Releases Water from Lagdo Dam

The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) has issued a fresh alert to nine states that could be affected by the release of water from the Lagdo Dam in Cameroon.

The states are Adamawa, Taraba, Benue, Nasarawa, Kogi, Anambra, Edo, Delta, and Bayelsa.

NEMA’s Director General, Mustapha Ahmed, made this known during an emergency meeting where he gave an update on the situation.

He added that the flooding could also lead to the destruction of crops and infrastructure in the affected areas.

He said that the flood waters have already inundated some communities and farmlands along the banks of the River Niger in Adamawa, Taraba, and Benue states.

Share this news

Subscribe to the Advocate News letter and receive news updates daily in your inbox.

Check Also

Nigeria’s Vice President Shettima Heads Delegation to AFCON Finals: Super Eagles Ready for Rematch with Côte d’Ivoire

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has directed Vice President Kashim Shettima to lead a presidential delegation …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *