Kiagbodo community charges Chairman to tackle herdsmen menace

Kiagbodo Community in Burutu Local Government Area of Delta state has elected Mr. Jones Obulu as chairman-elect to pilot the affairs of the community for the next two years with charge on him to tackle the Fulani herdsmen menace that has brought untold hardship to farmers in the area.


In a chat with journalists after the election, Kiagbodo Electoral Committee chairman, Comr. Clement Wagha, stated that the election was free, fair and peaceful, had the Burutu Local Government council chairman, Chief Ebikeme Clark, the DPO Burutu LGA, the outgoing chairman of Kiagbodo community, Mr. Paul Clark, Former Provost, School of Marine Technology, Burutu, Dr. J. P. Dittimi, Hon. Godwin Masah, Special Assistant, Political to Governor Okowa and others in attendance.


Wagha stated further that the electoral committee adhered strictly to the guidelines made available to them and they consulted widely including Elder statesman, Chief Edwin Kiagbodo Clark before they conducted the election and at the end of the day, Mr. Jones Obulu, emerged the chairman.


On his part, chairman-elect of Kiagbodo community, Mr. Jones Obulu promised to work with his executives to fix the electricity problems, encourage farming and tackle herdsmen menace in the community, adding that he would run an all inclusive government where both aggrieved persons will be engaged for the overall development of the community.


Obulu however thanked them for the opportunity given to him to serve, just as he promised not to betray the confidence reposed on him by his people. He promised to run all inclusive government where everyone has a sense of belonging just as he pledged more development for the good people of the community.


Councilor representing Burutu Local Government Area Ward 13, Kiagbodo in his speech said that since they elected a respected person, it will attract development and progress to the community, advising the new president general and the team to embark on reconstruction of the community, assuring them of total support.


Others elected includes, Comrades Oji Christopher, Vice Chairman, Mejuya Godswill, Secretary, Oshenye Teddy, Assistant Secretary, Dabor Guvnor, Treasurer, Omoduemuke Queen, Financial Secretary, and Suowei Felix, PRO, and Izakpa Ebiade Saturday, Provost.


Others are Samuel Jackson Paper, Youth President, Ughellicha Joseph Ebimene, Youth Secretary, Johnson Eniye, Youth Treasurer, Christopher Okotiti, Youth Financial Secretary, Good Helen, Helen Dabor, Augustina Israel and Aloba Emomotimi, as quarters’ women leaders, while Okiti Andrew, Edewor Lord, Bayoko Monday and Kadeji Bismarck as quarter chairmen.


Share this news

Subscribe to the Advocate News letter and receive news updates daily in your inbox.

Check Also

IOCs Not Leaving Nigeria – Minister Lokpobiri Assures Stable Investment Climate

Minister of State for Petroleum Resources (Oil), Heineken Lokpobiri, has assured that International Oil Companies …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *