Advocate News
News Politics

Oyegun chairs APC South-South reconciliation committee; as leaders passed a vote of confidence on Buhari

Chief John Odigie-Oyegun
Chief John Odigie-Oyegun

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) Caretaker/ Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee has appointed a former National Chairman of the party, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, as chairman of its South-South reconciliation committee.

This was part of the decision that was reached at South-South leaders meeting in Abuja on Tuesday.

An APC Chieftain from Edo State, Chief Lucky Imasuen is to serve as the Secretary of the committee and other members of the committee include; Chief Sunny Jackson, Dr. Mrs. Maryam Ali, Dr. Sam Jaja, Senator Clever Ikisikpo and Chief Emmanuel Nsan.

In a communique at the end of the meeting, the south-south leaders also passed a vote of confidence on the administration of President Muhammadu Buhari, applauding Mr. President for the tremendous work he is doing under very difficult circumstances.

The communiqué read in part: “The meeting resolved that leaders must work together in harmony in the interest of the party and our people.

ALSO READ:PDP carpets APC, says Nigerian tormentor has fizzled out

“The meeting condemned the divisions amongst the leaders and urged on the need to foster unity in the zone.

“The meeting resolved to set up a committee of six persons of integrity to handle reconciliation and issues from the various states.

“The meeting called on leaders to use the membership revalidation, and update exercise as a tool for ramping up our support base and for the unification of the party in the region.”

Party leaders at the meeting also reiterated the resolution of the National Executive Committee of the party asking all members who had pending litigations against the party and or its leaders to withdraw them from the court.

ALSO READ  Kogi Governorship Election: Tribunal Delivers Judgment In Four Appeals

Two federal lawmakers from Rivers State who defected from the opposition Peoples Democratic Party to join the APC were also formally received during the meeting.

The two members of the Federal House of Representatives: Chisom Dike and Ephraim Nwuzi, representing Elemetai, Oyigbo and Etche and Omuma federal constituencies respectively, were welcomed into the party fold as they promised to work hard towards the growth and success of the party going forward.


Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

Advocate Nigeria